So like any goal setter in the early stages of 2017 would do, I’m going to create a vision board for my ideal office space.

Every vision board needs some inspiration, Pinterest is absolutely great for this, which is where I found my idea for my space. This space is clean, simple and chic, which is exactly what I am going for. I don’t like overcrowded spaces. Image courtesy of Kelli Murray, click here for a home tour of her delightful workspace.

0994a7265495b414848b261e4d83b130

I’m fortunate to have a spare room and it is perfect for an office setup, it has two shelves which are already filled with books and underneath is a power point, so that’s where my desk will go. At the moment it just has the usual spare room junk, unused keyboard, ironing board and storage boxes. Let’s vamp this space up a bit!

So I could set unrealistic expectations for myself and list a whole bunch of items that I’m never going to purchase, or I could set myself an office budget and head to my one-stop-shop for everything I need to make this space happen. We’re going to Kmart!

Let’s start with a desk, I have had my eye on this simple, chic desk for a while now, my iMac will sit flush and it’s not too bulky, also the rest of our furniture is a similar style, so in the event I have to combine my spaces, the furniture will always match!

42296744-1-fKmart Scandi Essential Desk $39.00

I already have a spare dining chair that I will be use, this is part of the 5 piece Sven Dining Suite which came as part of a lounge and dining package from Super Amart.

544480001_002_02012016.jpg

Sven Dining Chair $58.00

Perhaps we’ll throw a shaggy rug in, meticulously place it over the chair, and then use it to sit on as these chairs aren’t exactly the most comfortable for long periods of sitting. Editing bum anyone? This is the Wellington Faux Fur Rug for $19 and it also comes in grey.

 42306580-1-f

Now for some décor! I have fallen for the clean and minimalist style that has taken over my Instagram and Pinterest, however I still haven’t quite adapted to it, but my current home is slowly coming together. In my opinion, less is more. Clutter drives me bonkers, even my books have to be in some sort of order (genre, colour, size).

Let’s start with lighting – I’ve spent many hours hunched over in front of my computer, bright screen burning my eyes, only to finally take a moment to realise I’m sitting 10cm away from my screen. Lighting is important, my dad always said you should have a lamp on while watching the television, never in the dark! The reason behind that? There is probably a scientific one, but I’m just decorating an office, not informing you of the dangers of watching bright screens in the dark.

Keeping the clutter away from the desk, a standing lamp is perfect, and they look super cute! I like this one because, well, it fits in with my whole theme really. As for a light bulb, this will probably cost between $5-$10 (also from Kmart) and this lamp is 40W capacity and requires an E27 Edison screw globe. I’ll go for a “warm white” I think.

 

42326922-1-f

Madera Floor Lamp $29.00

Ahhhh stationery, my secret, guilty pleasure. I can’t even count how many notebooks I have purchased in my time, simply because they had an appealing cover. I used to be quite the hoarder of stationery, post it notes, clips, sticky tabs (I still have a stash at home). I always felt SUPER organised if I had the tools to make me organised. Kmart have a pretty sweet range at the moment and most items are under $5, winning! Here are a few of my favourites.

Document trays ($8)are a perfect place for all of those paper bills or any important mail, but if you can opt for paperless statements and accounts with your suppliers you should definitely do so! It saves SO much paper, leaves trees in the ground and you’ll feel a whole lot better for helping preserve the environment! This Wooden Crate ($6) would be perfect for any charger cords, weirs items that always seem to end up on your desk that have no real home, once again, keeping the clutter OFF the desk.

Any Ceramic Tumbler for $7 from the bathroom section or the Geo Pot for $3 makes for a great pen holder!

N.B I can’t take credit for this idea, a girl I work with uses a toothbrush up and soap dispenser for sanitiser and pens, HOW INNOVATIVE! (not one to think outside the box much). However, I have one of those way-too-big mugs from Kmart with cute gold writing that never gets used to tea that will do the job just perfectly, fitting in aesthetically well.

Of course some greenery is a much needed piece of decor in any office, these artificial plants are a perfect option if you are like me and cannot keep a cactus alive. However, I plan to strengthen my green thumb this year and have been looking at suitable indoor plants that don’t need much sun, water or attention in general. Find these in the Kmart Home Décor section, prices ranging from $5 to $15. Also indoor plants (real ones, remember) are GREAT for air purification!

I could go on forever about what I would decorate my office with, but I simply wanted to write this post so I could show you (okay me) how to create a space for yourself for under $100. The best thing about this space is it doesn’t even need to be in a room on it’s own, I set up one similar in my bedroom at my last place and it was great! I’ll be sure to post a photo when I finally have my own office set up.

Em x

16129756_1022745647830934_2034036574_o

One thought on “Create your dream office (on a budget)

Leave a comment